Balmer Speaks

Posted: May 11, 2006 in Uncategorized
Was one of the few non-venture folks that got invited to Steve Balmer’s presentation to Silicon Valley VC’s today… in fact, he’s expounding now. 
 
A couple observations:
 
(1)  Never ceases to amaze me how SteveB (as he’s called around here) doesn’t lose his voice each and every day… man, this guy speaks with e-n-e-r-g-y… with personality.
 
(2)  I’ve CEO’ed a few companies.  I’ve done more than my fair share of 16-hour days.  But, I can’t even imagine what his days are like… can’t imagine how many directions he’s torn into.
 
(3)  Every third question seems to be able stock price… no doubt, he continues to pound a very bullish drum… and, no doubt, MSFT continues to be widely followed — and held (hence, all the questions).
 
(4)  ‘Tis true:  MSFT is really, truly stepping up its M&A activity.  (Hey, our old MessageCast logo just flashed on the screen!)
 
(5)  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again:  GOOG is the best thing that has happened to MSFT.  MSFT is at its best when it’s the underdog.
 
 
Steve just gave out his email address… nice touch.
 
Dinner should be interesting. <smile>
Comments are closed.