IMSI/Design, LLC… My New Company… Or, The More Things Change, The More They Stay The Same

Posted: June 13, 2006 in Uncategorized
Well, what do you know, I’m back in the software business!
I’ve lead a group of really great investors and purchased one of the most respected names in CAD (computer aided design) software from a public company:  The TurboCAD family of precision design products.
And, I’ll be taking the helm as CEO of the newly formed IMSI/Design, LLC.
So much to talk about here, so little time.
The important stuff:
 
*  Nobody outside the consumer niche knows us… but we have a KILLER product that can go head-to-head with the 800lbs gorilla, AutoCAD
 
*  CAD is not sleepy and old… but rather, it’s on fire!  Citigroup just cited AutoDesk (ADSK), makers of AutoCAD, as one of their top four "best" stock picks for 2006.  Best way to play in the global $650 billion construction boom, says Citigroup
 
*  We’re very profitable <smile>
 
*  The current team is smart, nimble, and fired up:  They’ve got something to prove, you can see it on their faces
 
 
Why do this? 
 
Because we feel that this is a $100 million company just waiting to bust out if given the proper attention, care, and feeding.
 
Which, is what I intend to do. <smile>
Comments
  1. Emily says:

    Hi Royal, I used to work with Gordon Landies, Susan Graves and several other IMSI\’ers. Congrats on the new gig! What is your email address so we can connect and catch up? Best, Emily Reichbach

  2. Royal Farros says:

    Emily!  Hello!  Royal (at) Farros.net.

  3. pat and jodie says:

    Good Luck, Sir
     
    I wish you well in your venture. As one of your end users, I look forward to change and efforts vs. the past efforts. Time will tell.
     
    Good Luck, Pat

  4. Royal Farros says:

    Pat–
     
    Thx! 
     
    Wanna send me a wish list? <smile> 
     
    I think Royal (at) IMSIdesign.com email is working now.
     
    –Royal.

  5. Unknown says:

    If you really are this guy—make the  **** program work correctly! I lose features during program operations, I have lost portions of the work product, and this product is unstable during operation. I have writing code for more than twenty-five years and have been drawing for almost fifty and as far as I can see, this program is most suitable for the blind. Try suppoting it.

  6. Royal Farros says:

    Tom, sorry for delayed response.  Ouch.  Will ping you and get to the bottom of this.  Thx.

  7. Royal Farros says:

    Tom, we called and emailed today… you around?

  8. Unknown says:

    I have been on vacation and now am back. I got the voice mail but need the email resent.

  9. Unknown says:

    I just spoke with Geo. Mcnamara nd we will try to resilve these problems.

  10. Royal Farros says:

    Excellent, please let me know (and cc: me on any communication).

  11. 5th says:

    Hi Royal,
    Good to hear TurboCAD is on its way up! I look forward to seeing it take a chunk out of the 800lb. gorilla. I get into daily friendly arguments with a couple of auto cadders that I know, I told them today that TurboCAD is going to buy out AC and put it on the shelf :) Far fetched, but we can dream. Congratulations!

  12. Unknown says:

    Hi,
    I am obsessed with Turbo Cad, it is far superior than Auto Cad, why isn\’t it number one? It is usually compared to AC LT, but the comparison should be with Autodesk Architectural Desktop! I see some problems in how the product is presented, it does not have a high-end, cool profile, like it should have. Would like to help, let me know!

  13. Royal Farros says:

    Thank you for your support (!)… agree with your assessment <smile>… please stay tuned.

  14. David says:

    Ok, so your company charges $4.95 for email help on a product that will not install or work properly? I have one of your company\’s products called HiJaak. Online support does not exist. Even after I printed out the readme file from the software and went to the destination for FAQ\’s, there were none. It is a Saturday and I will have to wait until Monday to call your company and be charged $1.00 a minute for tecnical support? If you want this company to break out then how about adding some real customer support.

  15. You ought to really think about working on developing this weblog into a serious authority on this market. You evidently have a grasp handle of the topics everyone seems to be looking for on this web site in any case and you may actually even earn a buck or two off of some advertisements. I would discover following current matters and raising the amount of write ups you put up and I guarantee you’d start seeing some amazing focused visitors within the near future. Only a thought, good luck in no matter you do!