Trust (Part II)

Posted: March 26, 2010 in Technology and Business
Been conflicted ever since that health plan passed last Sunday.  Since I’m worried about it being a "spending" plan vs. a "how can we use the government’s spending might to reduce costs,"  I’m not happy with the way it was rammed through.

However, to be fair, had I loved the plan, I’m sure I would be complimenting the President for, "cutting through the b.s. and red tape."

My conflict is while I don’t like the plan, I think the President has common sense… something I think has been missing in government for a long time.  I don’t think that changes overnight. 

I heard something this morning that reminded me of this.  I’m at the Global Technology Symposium and just heard Aneesh Chopra, CTO, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.  Much of what he talked about was the huge focus the White House has on using technology to gain cost savings.  But he didn’t just talk about it, he cited a number of examples.  Finally, a President who gets it.

That kind of focus comes from a bigger picture mandate… one that will hopefully include what we do in health.  So, while I don’t like the current health plan… and see how it can blow up in a zillion ways… I’m willing to give the President his shot at making this work… for now.

Comments are closed.