Thank You, Shirley Temple

Posted: February 11, 2014 in Business, Farros, Royal, Technology and Business
Tags: ,

Rarely can I say, “I’m not old enough” these days… but I’m not old enough to have seen Shirley Temple movies when they were new… but I certainly saw reruns my entire youth… what kid didn’t… she could light up an entire room with just a smile… who didn’t love to sing along with, “On the Good Ship Lollipop”?!

Sadly Shirley Temple passed this morning.

She’s one of the very, very few childhood megastars (she was #1 at the box office from 1935-1938, beating out other superstars like Clark Gable and Bing Crosby) that actually lived a normal, scandal-free life… going on to be politically active… but claiming her greatest roles in life were being a wife, mother, and grandmother.

But how big was she really?  During the depression years, President Franklin D. Roosevelt once said, “as long as our country has Shirley Temple, we will be all right.”  That’s how big.

I have a regret… I knew she lived in this area… I think maybe just a few streets over… and I always thought it would be wonderful to just knock on her door and say hello.  I imagined she would look like one of those TV moms, busied, but with a warm, welcoming smile.

I wish I had done that.  Thank you, Shirley Temple, for the great memories.

Comments are closed.